RSS Feed

A day at home

I’ve started a toy rotation system with Knox’s materials, where they go into 4 big Ikea cardboard boxes. I plan to rotate them every 2 weeks. May leave out objects he’s still very interested in. Considering doing assessment of which ones he persistently never plays with despite rotation and consider storing them for Quin. It is very obvious which objects are never used as they stay in their individual cubbies in the same pristine position I’d placed them at.

image

Last night after Knox went to bed, we did our first rotation after 2 weeks. Mike said Knox made a beeline for the play area first thing in the morning with an excited squeal. He didn’t even whine about coming in the bedroom to nurse as he often does in the morning, and hardly wanted to eat breakfast. He only came in the bedroom when Mike had to come in to change for work, and then he was holding his duplo cars and making sounds/talking to himself.
And today was lovely. I played with and read to him for short segments (am getting him used to the idea of 3 books each time, once in the morning, and before sleeps) and for the most part he was able to play by himself and play with Quin. He will still reactively take things from her but he also enjoys lying down/crawling with her and showing her some objects.He is also finally starting to do stacking with different toys (blocks, duplo…etc).
imageAnd he went and worked on the embroidery set I’d made him 3 weeks ago!

image

I had demonstrated it at the time but he dropped it pretty soon (partially, I think, because I was breathing down his neck and trying to micromanage his fingers). At one point, I saw him poking the needle into the pincushion and beginning to pull it out from the other side. Wanted to stop him but decided to wait and see (since the worst case I can just cut the end of the thread and pull it back out.) He pulled the thread back out and went to work on the burlap embroidery hoop. I tried very hard to ignore him and keep busy. Later, this is what I found:
image

I think I need to find a nice box for him to store his artwork in so he doesn’t see it go into the trash all the time, perhaps that will encourage him in his art making efforts, though I wonder at this age whether it registers: tried framing a drawing of his by sticking it on the wall with pretty masking tape. He was protesting while I did this. I failed to understand him because what he was saying seemed so ludicrous. But finally said to him “You don’t want this on the wall, you want this on your BELLY???” He nodded, relieved that I’d got it. So I took it off the wall and stuck it on his belly. He happily went to whiz around on his trike, proudly sticking his belly out.

image

I was able to get some housework done and even some paperwork. We went out for a short walk with his wooden trike and he insisted on bringing the attached wagon. I was very happy seeing how he really struggled to pull it on and off curbs, particularly as the wagon is as heavy as the trike and keeps falling off, and he would hook it back on the trike. He is used to expecting little if any help from me now so he will do it himself. I am so proud (but I only said) “You brought it up the curb yourself.”
Also, he had started to pour his cup into other people’s cup and into his own bowl a few weeks back. It is endlessly frustrating, particularly with the other people being guests and the kids are upset that their food/water is spoilt. So the other day I decided to leave Quin’s shot glass empty and asked Knox if he would like to give her some water from his cup. He poured, and was able to stop before the cup over-filled! Have tried pouring activity trays for him but he never sticks to them. He wants to do the real stuff!
and here is a video of Quin going through the play area while Knox is napping!
Screen Shot 2013-03-02 at 1.45.15 AM

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

