RSS Feed

Milking on the go…

Since I’ve started school, I haven’t had as much time to make stuff. I learnt that breastfeeding is still beneficial to babies up to 3 years old though, so I’ve decided to keep pumping.

For those who wonder where Knox goes during this time, he has been going to a very competent Montessori daycare, possibly the only one that takes pre-walkers in Taipei.

image

Knox on school bulletin, practicing stand/walking.

image

view of nursery

image

you might be able to see the cute little sinks in the back!

image

other playroom for first walkers

image

Knox exploring

So onward to pumping on the go!

When Knox was just born, we knew that within 8 months I would need to go back to school to finish my undergrad degree. So I looked up breastpump reviews online and chose to get the cheapest of the madela on-the-go series (Thankfully Mike was in a generous mood after Knox’s birth, for it is still incredibly expensive!)
*Unfortunately, this was before I had heard about the boycott on madela due to their advertising policies. So I was unable to join it.

image

image

so far I have tried 3 types of breastmilk storage bags, the first one I got in a department store maternity area. It was the cheapest one I could find there, and it was still 230NT for 25 bags. They were of a very simple design: one opening, write date name and quantity on sticker. My husband and our babysitters had spills when trying when using them.

The second type I got was from a bulk maternity store, Kodomo, where the prices are considered more reasonable. For 199NT you get 2 bags of 20. I got two different brands that were the same price to compare. Exhibit A was made in Taiwan and I was inclined to using that brand to keep jobs local, unfortunately my husband said that the seam broke open and leaked, and had the same sticker thing. However, it did indicate cutting points at the bottom for releasing the milk, so that was an improvement!
image

The other one was a Japanese brand manufactured for Taiwan, since the labeling was in Chinese, and you can write directly on the bag.
image

image

image

image

Among things that made my life easier: Just last year, my college had installed a breastfeeding room, this id awesome as I can use their fridge for storing milk, their outlets for running the pump, and their sink to wash out the bottles.

But I also like to maximize my time at home, so besides time between classes I prefer pumping while commuting. A year ago I had discovered that the Taiwan High Speed Rail has outlets in the bathroom for shaving, which I used at that time to emergency charge my cell ; p . This knowledge has served me well, since I now use the socket for running my breastpump while commuting!

image

Thank you THSR!
image

for happiness,
Grace

Leave a Reply

